Still Here…for Better or Worse!


And also for richer or poorer and in sickness and in health!

Yes, Dan and I took the plunge.  We got married on October 9th in Vegas.  It was what we thought it would be.  Short, sweet, just us and some family at the Marriage Commissioner’s office.

We did a whirlwind trip, two nights in Vegas at two different hotels (the first night at a cheap place on Fremont Street to save some cash) and got married the morning before we drove home.

When asked how married life is, I tell the truth.  It’s the same as when we were just living together.  Except my name has changed and Dan is now on my insurance.  Which means that married life is good.  I love him, he loves me, we enjoy each other’s company, we are best friends.

My health has gotten no better, though at least there is a name for it.  Crohn’s Disease.  Which is what I had initially suspected all along and should have had as a diagnosis all the way back in October but my first inept gastroenterologist failed to tell  me.  Once my new and brilliant doctor got the results of all my tests that the first doctor had done, he knew what it was right away.  And even managed to let me know, four months after the first guy should have done so.

It’s a depressing and heartbreaking diagnosis for me because there is no cure.  The best I can hope for is that the new doctor figures out the right combination of therapies to get it into remission.  My nephew asked me today if I was going to die from it.  Hopefully not, though I am guessing my eventual demise will be from some complication of the disease.

Right now I am sitting at home, not able to work, not making any money.  I am in pain almost constantly.  It’s not a fun life and it certainly isn’t the way the I had hoped my marriage to Dan would start.  However, it leaves me with absolutely no doubt that he will stand by me through the worst.

As a way of celebrating that and the good things in our life together, we are going ahead with a plan we started after the wedding to have a reception.  It’s less than two weeks away now and it is the thing that keeps me going.  From my sickbed, I’ve been able to do most of the planning and purchasing.  Dan goes with me and drives when we actually have to go to see the vendors because I’m usually on narcotics.  But we’ve still made it fun.  As I’m hoping the reception will be, for us and our guests.

I know I will have fun because my plan is to dope up (on my legally obtained painkillers) so I can be there the whole time.  Crohn’s pain can often take me out of circulation easily so I figure if my guests can stand me being high and silly, it’ll be pleasurable for all.

At the very least, they will have really good food and the best wedding cake ever!

Leave a Reply

